Ad blocker interference detected!
Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers
Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.
Is the Quidditch Cup, which is awarded each year, the same item as the House Cup, which is also awarded every year? There are arguments for both saying yes and no to this question:
yes, it is the same: - in Philosophers stone, harry grieves about losing 50 points when mcgonagall finds him and says "he lost the points he earned by winning quidditch" - http://harrypotter.wikia.com/wiki/House_points says one can earn house points by winning quidditch
no, there are two different cups: - oliver wood states in prisoner of azkaban that this was his last chance of winning the cup (due to him doing his last shool year). gryffindor, however, won the (house)cup in the books before. - http://harrypotter.wikia.com/wiki/Quidditch_Cup and http://harrypotter.wikia.com/wiki/House_Cup give non consencial information about cup winners
my conclusion is that it is in fact possible to earn house points via quidditch, but that the quidditch cup of hogwarts has its own ranking, which is not influenced by anything other than quidditch. perhaps some of you can answer if this is correct
- Although houses recieve points from winning in quidditch, winning the quidditch cup does not neccesarily mean that you also win the house cup. They are complely seperate awards.--Matoro183 (Talk) 15:01, 23 December 2008 (UTC)
The two cups are different awards but, u do get points from quidditch matches. if gryffindor got 400 points in the match and slytherin got 300, slytherin lost the match but they still got 300 house points and gryffindor won + got 400 house points. thats what I think anywaysSupremeCommander 16:31, 11 April 2009 (UTC)
I think that they are seperate awards. However, quidditch cup points are included in the house cup.--ShirleyA 10:43, 20 April 2009 (UTC)
They are two separate awards. In Sorcerer's Stone when Ron Weasley is looking into the Mirror of Erised he says, "...I'm wearing the badge like Bill used to--and I'm holding the house cup and the Quidditch cup." Jcabr003